Discussion in 'Ask Steve Lawson & Michael Manring' started by whir, Aug 30, 2003.

1. whir

Aug 30, 2003
    I have been playing bass off and on for about 3 years. I was in a band for the first year (hardcore punk like the exploited) I have never really cared about learning other peoples songs I just like to walk and solo to jazz and stuff. At one point about 2 years ago I could feel the music as though it was motion or liquid and it was easy to predict what would come up next I was getting good, Then I started to smoke angel dust wich cuased some proplems with my head and ever since then its hard for me to let my soul connect to the instrament, before I could do it anytime now one day I can one day I cant. Is there any methods used to open up the inner art?
  2. christoph h.

christoph h.

Mar 26, 2001
    if you haven't already (not clear from you post). you should stop smoking angel dust.

other than that you should be aware that "trying" to connect to the music is probably one cause of why it doesn't work.
  3. Steve Lawson

Steve Lawson Solo Bass Exploration! Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2000
    Birmingham, UK
    Not sure if this was a serious post or not, but assuming it was, smoking angel dust is going to do you no favours long term.

It's pretty clear that the history of popular music owes a lot to many of its pioneers using and abusing drugs. Which leads some people to conclude that it's neccesary to enter an artificially altered state of consciousness to get anywhere creatively. That clearly isn't true, as the number of non-drug taking immensely creative people in the world will show you.