Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by xerogh, Nov 28, 2002.

1. xerogh

xerogh Supporting Member

Oct 11, 2002
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Need opinions...

CompUSA has the Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX sound card on sale for $99.00. This thing has a external MIDI interface and all kinds of recording and loop processing software along with a big Sound Font library.

I have seen people bash the Audigy sound card. Is this is a bad card? What is wrong with it?

I figure for $99.00 it's a steal. I'm just learning how to do home recording, so if I could use this card along with its software bundle to learn.

Let me know what you think.

Thanks,

x

2. It doesn't do true 24bit 96kHz recording as some pro-audio cards do, and some people find the SB cards to be a bit noisy. It also doesn't have any good ASIO or WDM drivers in order to get super-low latency in Cubase and Cakewalk (respectively). 24/96 gives more "headroom" when recording - you get fuller frequency response.

However, as a beginners card (and at that price) it's worth looking into. It's just that you may want to upgrade in the future to something a little more "professional".

As an alternative, have you considered the Terratec DMX 6 Fire 24/96? It is a very similar soundcard but with the 24/96 recording facility and slightly better driver support. There's also the M Audio Audiophile 24/96 which again has better driver support than the Soundblaster. All of these should be in roughly the same price bracket.

All the best!

3. xerogh

xerogh Supporting Member

Oct 11, 2002
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Thanks MKS, you have helped me in the past and I appreciate your input!