1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

sound clip 40 odd year old chezch hybrid

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by bassplayer48, Jan 5, 2012.

1. dj5

dj5

Sep 17, 2009
    England
    Sounds very nice to me, and your playing is VERY nice.
    I'm a BG - DB newbie, and I've got a Strunal hybrid with weichs's on. It sounds pretty good to me, but I do keep wondering if I should have got mittels - my bass seems to lack a bit of low-down oomph, and the volume seems low to me, but everyone tells me you can't tell what your bass sounds like unless someone else is playing it, and it my case that would be someone a lot better!
    I really like the sound of your bass on this recording, but it sounded a tiny bit distant to me, and I couldn't get an impression of the E very well. Having said that, I wish my set-up sounded as good!
    Have you tried the mittels? - most people seem to think they are more powerful. I was toying with the idea of just fitting an E and seeing how that sounded before i spent another £137 on spec.
    All the best
    Mark

2. hi thanks for your comments i do agree that sometimes its hard to judge your own sound, as for the mittels no i haven't tried them but i do know they are higher tension, which i think would take some adjusting to. However i have read they are a more powerfull sound and given the bigger gauge would make sense.

I have been toying with the idea of guts, which can sound wonderful on the right bass. However i tried a set of Innovation silver slaps which are supposed to be a synthetic gut alternative and i hated them with a passion!

3. dj5

dj5

Sep 17, 2009
    England
    I suppose it boils down to whether you're prepared to throw some more money at a possible "sound in your head"!