Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Sound difference between CD's and vinyl

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Thulsa, Apr 23, 2002.

1. I just got around to replacing my cartridge of my turntable. Been quite a while since I played any vinyl, since well before I started playing bass. Is it just me, or does vinyl have much better sounding lows compared to cd's? I find it much easier to hear the bass line on albums.

2. PJR

PJR

Jun 20, 2001
    N.E. PA
    That's been the focal point of debate among Audiophile purists since the advent of CD technology .

Early CD's tended to sound 'cold & Sterile' as compared to the vinyl......part due to the mastering , and part due to inferior playback systems......(I'm oversimplifying a ton here)

CD technology , both mastering and reproduction have come a far way these days.....

Yes......you may find it easier to hear the bass on some records.

PJR
    Bass Player/Audiophile

3. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    Interestingly, the amount of low end you put on a typical LP is much LESS than what a CD can have.

This is because the physics of how the stylus rides in the grooves makes loud low frequencies a problem. Too much bass and the stylus will jump the groove.

Many reissued CDs have "restored" bass content compared to LP masters which rolled it off.

4. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I must say that I found the exact opposite when CDs first came in - but only really on classical/orchestral recordings.

So I used to find on vinyl that really low bass would distort or just not be reproduced - so if you take the lowest organ pedal notes : on recordings of Holst's Planet Suite for example, before CD I didn't really hear the organ at all.