Soundgear bad tone?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by fraggs5, Sep 18, 2005.

1. fraggs5

Mar 27, 2005
    I posted recently about how I was planning to buy myself a new 5 string soundgear (SRX505), to compliment my ATK100. The gist i got was that they are similar enough, with the exception of the thinner neck in the SRX ( i am gonna miss that fat neck ). I love the tone out of my ATK. Dosent compare to warwicks, but i still love it. However, i just read the "bad basses" thread and the lower end soundgears got bashed left and right as being the worst ever. So what are peoples experiences with the srx505?

On another note, im also looking into a G&L Tribute L-2500 (im yet to play one, but ive heard good things).

Thanks for the help :bassist:
  2. Simball

Mar 26, 2005
    Portland, Oregon
    I've heard nothing but good things about the G&L Tributes. I've got no experience with the Ibanez model you're speaking of but I did have a soundgear bass that SUCKED. Terrible fret buzz, preamp made a horrible popping noise when played direct. I think you'd be better off with a tribute than an Ibanez IMO.
  3. clanner

clanner Token Black Guy.

Apr 27, 2005
    ummmmm, marietta GA
    any soundgear with a 500 or more in it is usually pretty good, and all of the srx basses sound great.

ut i just got a G&L and don't play my sound gear much anymore.(thouh i really miss that amazingy smooth, fast neck :( )
  4. Greg Johnsen

Greg Johnsen

May 1, 2005
    Hickory NC
    I can't stand srx's. they use cheap copies of mm pups, go with the sr series, much better quality. Some people are just Ibanez hater's anyway, and I bet some of them haven't even tried them because I love them.

Oh, and my sr has better tone than warwick, it kicks ass.

5. christle

christle Supporting Member

Jan 26, 2002
    Winnipeg, MB
    I like my SRX505. I have also gotten compliments on its tone, particularly after I put DR Low Beams on it. I use it as a back up to my Cirrus.