Soundguy Angst!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Mark Reccord, Nov 22, 2000.

1. I'm a new member and I'd just like to say hello to everyone! I'm a bassist but I'm also a pro sound engineer. I've notice a fair number of threads in the last litte while with horror stories and general angst and distaste toward soundguys. I'd just like to say that we're not all jerks or idiots!! It's really horrible that soundguys like that are giving the rest of us a bad name. Have faith, we're not all bad.

p.s. Bass players make the best sound engineers:D
  2. hello and welcome, i have never had a problem with a sound guy and i agree, bass players as sound guys are a perfect combo. i have more problems with guiar players that think they are sound guys
  3. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Welcome to Talkbass, Spacegoat!

I've never been fortunate enough to have a sound engineer who was a bassplayer, that would rawk! I guarantee I would be heard on THAT gig.

Most of the ones that I've dealt with were really bad guitar player wannabes.
  4. Welcome spacegoat!

Actually, most REAL sound guys are very understanding and helpful, I mean they want to do a good job as well as the band wants it. They cant do a good job if the band doesnt sound right.. right? :) (then we all have different views on what sound that is good..)
  5. virtual.ray

Oct 25, 2000
    Could we have a little more talent in the monitors,please?
  6. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Rant On...!

There are (at my count)THREE types of soundmen-
    1)Audio enginneers(like our friend Spacegoat)
    2)Sound guys
    3)Guys with sound reinforcement equipment

The 1st group is by far the hardest to find; they're "artists" who actually care about their "product".
    They take it PERSONALLY if something ain't happenin'...
    I have played in bands that HIRED these types; they were part of the group & received a FULL CUT!