Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Soundpost is splintered

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by erikwhitton, Mar 5, 2003.

1. erikwhitton

erikwhitton Guest

Sep 20, 2002
    Portland, ME USA
    hello, bear in mind i'm a noob.

My bass is a Kay C1 (1956)

I was checking out my bass last night, really examining my bridge and neck b/c i know some work is needed. Well - i saw that my soundpost is split or splintered.

What's the threat level with this?

also - there is a circle of wood or board on the inside of the back of my bass where the soundpost sits - however the SP is not centered on this circle. Should it be?

Thanks,
    erik

2. sean p

sean p

Mar 7, 2002
    eugene, oregon
    hi, erik. while i don't have answers for your questions regarding risks and setup specifics, i have a 1940 kay c-1 with the same characteristics. the sound post appears split (i haven't taken it out to look at it better, but from the outside it looks as though it may have been cut that way, perhaps for some tonal adjustment - fairly intentional-looking), and rests slightly off-center on a 3-4" diameter 'patch' on the back of the bass.

i have wondered the same things as you, but in the seven years i've had the bass everything's been stable without adjustment (and the guy i bought it from didn't seem like the kind of person that had it tweaked in the time he'd owned it either). and since it sounds fine, i haven't strongly considered having the post adjusted.

sean p

3. erikwhitton

erikwhitton Guest

Sep 20, 2002
    Portland, ME USA
    thanks sean. i hope you don't mind me asking another question about your Kay - just to see if you have a similar fingerboard as mine.

mine is rounded for the A-D-G strings, but between the A & E - it is more of a bevel than a smooth roundness.