1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

SPB-1 or SPB-3 to pair with SD Apollo Bridge pickup? (PJ)

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by el_Bajo_Verde, Jan 2, 2017.

1. el_Bajo_Verde

el_Bajo_Verde

May 18, 2016
    USA
    Looking to replace the stock pickups in my Squier PJ. The Seymour Duncan Apollo Jazz pickup is a split-coil humbucking pickup, DCR is 9.25 though I don't know what that means.

I liked the Quarter Pounders in one of my old P-basses but I'm worried that it will overpower this bridge pickup. I'll be stringing my bass CGDA so I've been thinking the Vintage P-pickup will balance things a little better. I've read that Vintage has better articulation than the Quarter Pounders, too. But I have no personal experience with it.

I think the Apollo is not a common pickup, but I'd appreciate everyone's thoughts!

2. walterw

walterw Supportive Fender Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 20, 2009
    alpha-music.com
    i think the vintage would be perfect here.

acebase62 and Isotonic like this.
  3. Isotonic

Isotonic

Oct 19, 2011
    Round Rock TX
    I concur. I have never owned either model but for me PJ is always been a vintage sound. Mellow, musical, versatile with potential for melodic lines. I've never liked the SPB3. I wouldn't worry about matching them for output. The Beauty of the PJ is in the subtle P and J blends. In my experience, just a little J goes a long way.

4. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Even though I endorse EMG and love the Geezer, credit where it's due...SPB-1 is one of the best pickups on the market. I like it quite a bit better than the QP.

BaticaBG, acebase62 and el_Bajo_Verde like this.