Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Speakon questions

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Dan Molina, Jul 23, 2005.

1. Dan Molina

Dan Molina TalkBass Secular Progressive

Jul 17, 2002
    Murr Town, California
    I just got my new QSC poweramp and I have a few questions about the speakons.

1. When running bridge mono do I need 2 speakon cables wired for bridge mono for connecting to 2 8ohm cabs?

2. Do I need another two cables for running my cabs in parallel (I think I worded that correctly)

3. Will my 1/4 jack pop out of my cab if running in bridge mono?

Thanks guys I'm new to this power/pre setup.

2. To fully answer your question, I need to know what inputs are on your cabs.

As far as running the amp in bridge mono - check your dip switch settings on the back of the amp....I believe 4-9 need to be to the right. The clip limiting and filter switches for channel two need to be to the "off" position (left). Then, all you need is a speakon (or banana) to ? cable to go to the first cab, then a ? to ? cable from the first cab to the second cab. You would then be running both cabs (in parallel) for a 4-ohm load (read, LOTS of watts from a 2450). You do not need special "dual" cables for this setup.