Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Speakon...??

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by spectorbass83, Oct 26, 2005.

1. spectorbass83

spectorbass83

Jun 6, 2005
    canada
    I am just getting into amps/cabs and have gained a lot of knowledge from the great TBers on this forum :D Can someone explain to me what you would use a Spekon connection for? Why is it there? What exactly does it do?

2. bigtexashonk

bigtexashonk Supporting Member

Amp to Cab.

3. It is another way of connecting your amp too your speaker cabinet. I do not fully understand the technical aspects of the speakton connection, but others who are wiser than I will no doubt cover that.

I use them myself to connect my amp [Acoustic Image - Clarus] to my cabinets and am very satisfied with the job they do.

Regards

Matthew

4. If you do a Speakon search, you'll find tons of info.

They are more positive connection for amp to speaker. They won't pull out easily because they twist and lock. They won't arc or short if disconnected because they don't make contact between pos/neg contacts.

They cost more, but a decent 1/4 jack costs 3.00+ anyway. They are VERY EASY to install, no soldering needed.

Mag...

5. Akami

Akami Four on the floor

There are probably at least three major points of superiority of the speakon connector over the "traditional" 1/4" connector.

1) Virtually pull-out proof due to simple locking mechanism

2) As Magneto noted, the possibility of shorting out disappears due to the fact that the connecting surfaces come together only with the appropriate side

3) The self-cleaning connecting surfaces allow much, much more contact than anything other than possibly banana plugs

Another wonderful thing, if you buy the right ones and have the right cable, is that you can run bi-amped signals through one single cable, one single connection! I love that! :D

6. iriegnome