Specific Left Hand Technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by DaemonBass, Apr 5, 2004.

1. DaemonBass

Mar 29, 2004
    Sacramento, CA
    Hello everyone!

I am primarily self taught so I need some feedback from the others on here about how I should go about playing this line from Master of Puppets (fingerstyle)

This is played in eight notes around 220 bpm which is the same as playing 16ths are 110 bmp (right?)

I lack the dexterity to play this at that speed and although I have been practicing at slow tempos I have a question. Which is the better way to play this line at that speed? Using 1 finger per-fret method OR using thumb as a pivot and playing the 3rd AND 4th frets with the pinkie? Or does it make any difference? I noticed that when I play this at top speed using my ring finger I get more pain than when using 4th finger only when needed. Any advice on how I can get this up to speed without undue damage?

Also if you have any questions about left hand technique at the lower frets of the bass feel free to respond with your questions (specific examples please). Due the the bass's large scale we obviously can't keep our hands 1 finger per fret in first position can we?
  2. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    What if you try fingering the 2nd and 3rd frets with the middle finger and the 4th with the pinky? (Sort of upright technique, but the first thing I thought while looking over your example...)
  3. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    I would play this with 'finger-per-fret'...looks like a good exercise for warming up. Not sure if I could keep it at tempo but for so long...
    Otherwise, I would use the pinky on the 3rd AND 4th frets(as you already mentioned).

The other side of the equation is the plucking hand
    (unless you're pickin').
  4. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS