Spector Action/Truss Rod Question

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by 2099, Jul 3, 2004.

1. 2099

Jul 4, 2003
    I have a Czech Spector NS-5CR and recently I can't get the action to go where I want it to. I believe the neck may be beginning to bow as a result of leaving it in a case all of the time.
    Currently, the only way to set the action is extremely high and it leaves about 1 mm gap from the string to the first fret and a 1/4" gap between the string and frets 12-20 then begins to recede down again.
    My question is what should I do to fix this? I believe that it may need a truss rod adjustment, but I have never done it before. But I also can't stand the buzzing with low action. I like to play as low as possible and still be clean. Something tells me that if I don't do something quick then I may end up ruining this bass. Thank for you time.

On second thought, this may be perfectly acceptable. I was looking through other posts and found the attached picture, which is what my current setup looks like. But I still want the advice of someone who knows more than me about this. This is the first moderately expensive bass that I have owned.
  2. how is the relief on your neck?.

You can check it by fretting the first fret with your left hand and the last with your right hand at the same time. normally by doing this you should see a gap between the string and the 12th fret, it should be big enough to fit a credit card in it but no bigger than that. if the gap is bigger or if there is no gap at all you should adjust the rod.
  3. danshee

danshee Banned

May 28, 2004
    Chicago, Illinois