Spector Euro 4 Owners...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ECO, Dec 7, 2004.

1. ECO

Dec 7, 2004
    Hi all,

I am about tp buy a Spector Euro 4 in Blue/Black but have a couple of questions...

The guitar is being discounted at several LA Big box guitar shops. $750-$800. These are not the newer LX models but are new units.

The guitar I used has noticable hum/hiss with the treble tone turned all the way up thru a $200 Crate and Fender amps in the store. Is this normal for a Spector? The hiss/hum noise might also be present when the bass tone (lower right) knob is turned all the way up as well.

Even though I am just a beginner (not even a newbie yet) I loved the sound of the Spector and thought it was better than every other bass I tried, which included Bongos, Sterlings and Warwicks with passive pick-ups. To my untrained ears it was punchier and richer.

The LX models (they only had natural finish in stock) are approx $200 more. I am not that fond of the natural finish but do any of you think the $200 is worth it? Do you think it has less treble hiss/hum?

Also, one guy that reviewed the unit he bought said it was a 'Long Scale Length' and that it took some getting used to. I could not tell from his post if he had a 5 string Euro which has a 35" neck. Is that what people refer to as 'long scale length' or is it something else all togehter.

Also, the distance between octaves (two strings down and two frets back) seemed a tad further on the Spector than on a Sterling. Could that be right or are all 34" inch necks about the same distance between frets?

The bongo I played seemed to be a lot more forgiving (less string rumble when you don't hit the fret in the right spot) but the sound was not as punchy. Does that seem right?

I also got to play a G&L semi-hollow (around $1400) that I liked a lot. I though the pick-ups were cool.

Any advice would be sincerely appreciated.

Thanks, ECO
  2. adam on bass

adam on bass Supporting Member

Feb 4, 2002