Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Spector NS2000/5 vs. Rebop 5?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Lockout, Sep 21, 2004.

1. Lockout

Lockout

Dec 24, 2002
    Illinois
    Has anyone compared these two basses?

I currently own an NS2000/5, and it's an okay bass, but I've got my eye on a used Rebop 5 that's up for auction. Before deciding whether to bid or not, I thought I'd ask TB. What do you think? I have very little experience with Rebops, so this would be a bit of a gamble for me.

How do they compare in sound, playability, and general quality? For those of you who have played both, which do you prefer?

2. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    They are basically better overall, but, its not a HUGE step up from a NS2000/5. Might wanna save up for a Czech spector.

3. Lockout

Lockout

Dec 24, 2002
    Illinois
    Yeah, if I was going to buy it new, I would. But since the bass I'm looking at is used and (currently) going for a pretty decent price, I thought I'd see if I can get a nice deal out of it.

The reason I'm looking for comparisons is because I don't think I'd keep both basses if I ended up winning the auction. I'd want to sell whichever one I like less.

4. Brendan

Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    The Repops are Czech.

5. Timbo

Timbo

Jun 14, 2004
    ReBop 5's are Czech, mm hmm. I haven't compared them but I can give a few details. They are EXTREMELY solid basses, built to last. Probably the most comfortable bass I've played. Absolutely huge neck, very comfortable in my opinion. The EMG - HZ's, and the Aguilar 1 ( I think? ) give millions of tones.

6. Johnny BoomBoom

Johnny BoomBoom Supporting Member

Jun 8, 2001
    Glasgow, Scotland

Haven't played a ReBop5......however, I own a Spector NS5CR (the Czech neck-thru model), and a REX 2000/5.