Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Spector Questions

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Big giant head, Mar 9, 2005.

1. Big giant head

Big giant head

Feb 21, 2005
    I'm pretty new to the bass world and I've noticed that a lot of people are big on Spector so I went down to my local GC and tried a Legend 4. I really liked the sound of it so I can see why everyone likes them.

Now to my questions.
    1. A lot of people talk about the newer Spectors having fat or baseball bat type necks. Are the legends smaller than the others? The one I played was thick but didn't feel as clunky as my P-bass.

2. What has been your experience with getting a bass on e-bay or musiciansfriend? I see a lot of deals there.

3. Finally. Am I better off getting new Legend 4 from store or getting something like an NS2A from e-bay? Currently see one of those on e-bay.

2. i'm not experienced with spectors, but i can answer your second question. i ordered a bass from music123 a few months ago and everything worked out perfectly. it shipped across the U.S. in about a week and i could track it every day.

3. Selta

Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
    Total fanboi of: Fractal Audio, AudiKinesis Cabs, Dingwall basses
    eBay's hit or miss. Contact the seller, get a phone number if possible, as for odd picks that aren't in the listing, just to make sure they have it. I've only ordered small stuff from music123, so I can't really say there.
    I don't know about the legends, but generally Spector necks are hefty. I personally love it, some don't. You choose for yourself :).
    The older NS2A, Kramer era ones are loveable. I had the chance to play on one and wish I could've afforded it at the time. I think you'd be happy no matter what. Spectors RULE.

My $0.02

Ray

4. cetera

cetera

Apr 29, 2004
    Surrey, England