1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Spector Rebop5DLX or Ibanez SR3005E Prestige - which is better?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by lupien, Apr 5, 2009.

1. lupien

lupien

Aug 17, 2008
    Ottawa, Canada
    Hi guys. This is my first time posting in the bass section and would like to start off by saying hi to everyone.

So i`m in the process of getting a new bass and i`m stuck between these 2

- Ibanez Soundgear SR3005ESOL Prestige
    Bartolini Custom Soapbar pickups
    Upgraded Bartolini USA Electronics 3 band with selectable midrage frequency switch
    Mono-Rail IV bridge
    Mahogany Body, Wenge/Bubinga neck (5piece) with Wenge finger board
    Pics

- Spector ReBop5DLX
    EMG-HZ passive humbuckers
    Spector TonePump™ controls
    aluminum Spector Locking Bridge
    Alder body
    Graphite Reinforced 3pc Bolt-On Rock Maple Neck
    Pics (like thos but 5 string model)

Does anybody have any comments about either of these. They both sound pretty sweet to me.

Thanks

2. JEDBass

JEDBass

Mar 10, 2009
    West Hartford, CT
    I haven't played the Ibanez, but I currently own a Rebop 5 DLX. I'm not sure what playing style you usually use, but I'm primarily finger style. I love the overall playability of the bass. It feels very comfortable in my hands.

That said, it has a good amount of neck dive. That's probably my biggest complaint with it, espeically if I decide to dual up on keyboard duty. I've heard the Euro neck thrus (particularly the 4 stringers) are much better in this regard.