1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

speed!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by IAmTheDood, Jun 11, 2007.

1. IAmTheDood

IAmTheDood Shake and Bake

Dec 15, 2006
    Waterford, MI
    OK,

I've been playing for about 6 months now .. my speed is pretty good ..

I'm trying to learn Rush YYZ .. and the speed is just killing me. I know the notes, but I am off just a little bit on the speed and can't get it back.

Any tips you guys have? I do about an hour of practicing a day .. at least .. actual practicing .. scale runs, 3 fret runs of positions 3 - 4 - 5 and 6 - 7 - 8, double octave runs .. arpeggios .. minor blues, minor scales, all of that .. just to pick up my speed.

I am now a 2 finger fingerstyle player .. I'm good with the pinky (use all 4 fingers across 4 frets in a position) .. I use a floating thumb technique .. always have .. find it better than anchor and I don't loose speed off of it.

All I can think of is just keep practicing .. as I do I get faster .. each day I feel I am just a little bit faster on these runs ..

just wondering if there are any tips you guys can through my way .. I can probably put up a video tonight of the fastest scale I can play if you guys want to see it just for demo purpuses.

2. richardjones89

richardjones89

Jun 6, 2007
    i would like to see a video of you play. mainly to see how much of a difference 6 months of practicing can do to speed :)

as long as you can play it slow you can gradually build up the tempo to the real speed, and then you can work on playing it to perfection every time. ;)

3. Oratorio

Oratorio

May 9, 2007
    Norway