Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

speeding up fingerstyle

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by snowy, Jun 14, 2005.

1. snowy

snowy

Jun 14, 2005
    i've been playing bass for about 2 years, not long i know, n for about the last year i've been trying to speed up my fingerstyle playing, i've practiced loads and don't seem to have made a dramatic increase in speed, i was wondering if there are any techniques you guys know that could help or if i should just keep practicing?

cheers

2. Suckbird

Suckbird Banned

May 4, 2004
    Sweden
    keep practicing, i'm doing scales about 4hours a day and i dont see a big difference either lol..

3. lowphatbass

lowphatbass ****

Feb 25, 2005
    west coast
    get a pick!!
    Just Kidding!!
    Many people get hung-up with their right hand, but it is most benificial to approach speed with your fretting hand. Good technique than applies ease of motion, in other words have your hand and fingers already in the position they need to be ahead of time so all you need to do is lightly press down to make the note available for your right hand to play. The difficult thing is that applying this to it's full effect requires SLOWING things down. I can't really ASSume anything about your technique as it stands now, but if you are practicing alot and not getting anywere you may need to "break yourself down" a bit and start simple. The other thing that can be frustrating is the rate at which "plateaus"(sp?) are reached. At first we are making huge leaps in our playing ability regularly, but things slow down a bit after a while and the practice time we need to devote becomes greater, and sometimes we find we have less time to practice as we start playing more. Some of the improvements we make may be in theory or musicianship and aren't emmediately obvious to us when playing our instruments.