1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Speed's killing :(

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by dereklol23, Aug 30, 2008.

1. dereklol23

dereklol23

Jul 28, 2008
    Hi, I've been playing for about 6 months now, dabbled in some easy stuff and am trying to progress to some harder material
    I set my eyes on Muse's Map of the Problematique ()

I nailed the intro pretty well down, now when I get to the verse, I get pretty frustrated. As you can probably hear, the bass is pretty damn fast, 16th notes I think. I can't play that fast :meh:
    My friend told me to try a pick, I'm trying to learn how to use it now but to be honest I'd rather use fingers
    Is there any way to get up to speed? I can play decently fast, but not near that speed

2. use 3 fingers. thats what I do. but after more experience, its not that hard

3. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland

It might sound like a contradiction, but the best way to build up speed is to start slowly and g-r-a-d-u-a-l-l-y increase the speed.

Also, as you have only been playing six months be patient and give yourself a chance. :) The bassist you are trying to imitate has probably been playing for years.

4. Rudreax

Rudreax

Jun 14, 2008
    New York, NY
    If you have a metronome, use it. Otherwise use www.metronomeonline.com. Start off by practicing at slow tempos, and gradully increase the speed.

5. magickbass

magickbass Guest

May 24, 2008
    +1

My instructor always told me to turn down the metronome to a comfortable tempo. Play it until you can do it without problem, then slowly turn up the tempo. It won't come overnight BUT it will come.:bassist:

6. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses
    + 2