1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

spirit varnish to oil varnish

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Mitch911, Jan 22, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Mitch911

Mitch911 Commercial User

Dec 29, 2015
    hi everyone!
    my double bass has a spirit varnish on it. I'm a student who travels alot with my bass and due to the nature of the varnish, it's chipped quite a bit.

my main question is can I get my bass re varnished with an oil varnish? and would anyone know how much something like that would cost on an average 3/4 bass?

I've looked on this site and other outlets for info but can't find a single thing. any help would be appreciated. thanks

2. Thou$and$.

3. Rodger Bryan

Rodger Bryan Supporting Member

Jun 17, 2006
    Connecticut
    I'm not a luthier, but a hobbyist with experience with shellac. If you're certain that it is a spirit varnish, a luthier can re-touch with matching color, build and re-distribute the finish around the damaged areas to blend the old and new. Are you asking about spot re-touching, or completely re-varnishing? Is the chipping on the edges primarily, or is it cracking on the top/back and ribs as well? I don't think fixing chipped spirit finish spots with oil varnish is common practice, but a trip to a luthier will answer that question.

robobass and Matthew Tucker like this.
  4. Matthew Tucker

Matthew Tucker Commercial User

Aug 21, 2002
    Sydney, Australia
    Owner: Bresque Basses, Sydney Basses and Cellos