1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Spiro Mits vs. EP Mits (or Weichs even)

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by hdiddy, Oct 11, 2009.

1. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member

Mar 16, 2004
    Richmond, CA
    Too many monster threads.... TL;DR.

Can someone just compare Spiro's vs. Evah Pizz for me? I'm looking for sound, feel, tension, sustain, growl (yes I know it's a setup thing mostly), and volume.

Thanks.

2. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg

Jul 7, 2004
    Chicago
    Spiro Mittels are brighter and growlier than EPs.

The regular EPs are tighter and thicker feeling, a bit louder (fuller sounding) and bow easier with a darker sound. I found playing them tired me more than Spiros.

Weich EPs are looser feeling, more growl but still much darker. Good with the bow. I've been playing these for five months now and like them although I think they're losing some life.

3. hdiddy

Mar 16, 2004
    Richmond, CA
    oh good. Yeah I don't need darker! :D

YAY for not having to try out EPs! :hyper:

4. Greg Clinkingbeard

Greg Clinkingbeard

Apr 4, 2005
    Kansas City area
    KC Strings
    Eric the Great and I agree. I've been around the block a hundred times, trying everything.
    Smittels on my old German bass are absolutely perfect. The EP weichs after three weeks had all the life of a wet blanket. The feel is similar, but mittels give me the sound I want, both pizz and arco with very little effort. I do hope they last forever.

5. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui
    My experience with the EPs (weichs) was drastically different than those of Clink's. I consider them to be among the very best all around strings I've used. Since I started the EP weichs uberthread, I won't restate my impressions here.