Spirocore orch. vs. Pirastro?

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Chris Fitzgerald, Jan 11, 2001.

1. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    I was reading the last issue of Double Bassist recently, and it had an article on Pirastro strings. I've been using Spirocore strings ever since I started playing, starting with weichs and then moving up to the (red winding) orchestra gauge to get more sustain & punch. While I love the sound of the Spiros, they are farly high tension and taxing on the right hand. The article mentioned a player named Keith Drosier who switched from Spiros to the Pirastro Jazzer and then to their "Original Flat Chrome" strings, and then helped develop the Obligato line. Does anybody around here know who Drosier is and what his sound is like?

I like the sound I get from Spiros (though it could be a little darker at times), but if there was something as punchy out there with a little less tension, I'd be interested....Has anybody here in talkbassland AB'd the Thomastiks and any of the above Pirastros? I know there are comparison surveys out there, but I'd like to hear from some folks I'm a litle more familiar with if possible. Thanks!
  2. For me, the Pirastro Obligato is the perfect string. It is lower tension than any steel. I have different basses for jazz and orchestra, and the Obligato gives excellent response to bow and pizz. Pizz sustain on my jazz bass is as long as the Tomastik; however, that bass just rings. Pizz sustain on the orch bass is less, but longer than any orch string. Also, some people don't want too long a sustain.
  3. Chris Fitzgerald

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY