Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Spirocore Weichs too bright...

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by CBFinet, May 18, 2004.

1. CBFinet

CBFinet

Nov 11, 2002
    Phoenix, AZ
    I'm wondering if anyone might have some suggestions for me. At this time, I'm a college student and I'm stdying classicially for all of my school oriented studies, but also play jazz gigs several nights a week and consider that to be a main focus of my playing. Right now I'm using Spirocore Weichs, which I have been able to get a good arco sound from, but lately I've been increasinlgy unhappy with the pizz sound. For my bass, they seem too bright especially on the G and D strings even with various sound post adjustments. My bass is an old small 3/4 german flatback and it tends to have a very focused, but bright sound. Any suggestions for a slightly darker string without sacrificing much sustain or clarity?

2. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui
    How about plain ol' Spiro Orchestras?

3. JazznFunk

JazznFunk Supporting Member

Mar 26, 2000
    Asheville, NC
    Lakland Basses Artist
    Many around here, including myself, swear by Obligatos. I've played Spirocore Orchestrals and Thomastik Superflexibles both pizz and arco and nothing can compare to the Obligatos. They are dark and rich... about as close to gut as I've gotten without going all the way there. Everyone who has heard the bass with those has had nothing but good things to say. I don't play classical much (at least not within earshot of anyone), but use the bow a bit on jazz gigs and am pleased with the pizz and arco sound. It sounds like these may work well for you?

4. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui