1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Spiros vs. Superflexible

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by bribass, Dec 8, 2006.

1. bribass

bribass

Jan 25, 2006
    Northern NJ
    Endorsing Artist; Arnold Schnitzer/ Wil DeSola New Standard RN DB
    I'm a long time Siro Weich and Mittel user and I've always prefered their power and fast response. I make my living playing mostly Piz, but plenty Arco as well. Recently I put on a Superflexible G and I'm liking it alot w/ the Spiro Mittlel D,A and E. The SP G seems a bit easier to bow, has a nice less pingy piz tone and has an enjoyable softer feel to it. It also has a beautiful open G sound that somehow seems purer than a Spiro and is still bright enough for my very dark sounding bass. I'm considering putting on SF D,A and dare I go w/ the E as well? Anybody know if the SF E has comparable oompf to a Spiro Mittel E?

BG

2. tom5string

tom5string

Jul 14, 2006
    Hamburg/Bremen
    Hi bribass,

i just recently changed the complete set from spiro weichs to superflexibles. Although they have not really settled yet, i am satisfied. The first good thing i noticed (as you said) the G-String is way less "twangy".

When i compare, the superflexibles are a bit stiffer and produce less fingerboard-buzz. I found the D-String a bit too thick, has almost the A-String diameter ....

Ok - and this may be a different story for you because i'm playing a Clevinger EUB ... but you may get the idea.

Tom