Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

splitting strings for stereo output

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by geddyentwistle, Apr 6, 2005.

1. geddyentwistle

geddyentwistle

Apr 6, 2005
    hello!

i'm a guitarist/bassist ( don't hate me yet) with a 6 string bass tuned liked a guitar (e to e), and would like to play fingerstyle/classical guitar on bass....

but i would like to split the strings...low strings going to one pickup and high going to another, with a stereo output and then separate amps...

i've been thinking about the two parts of a p-bass pickup, separating them, and giving them separate outputs

someone at harmony central suggested using a bartolini quad coil but from the web site i can't see if i can wire it appropriately

any suggestions ( other than getting a crossover) are greatly appreciated

alex

2. Bass Kahuna

Bass Kahuna

Dec 3, 2002
    West Lafayette, Indiana
    Luthier, Custom Builder
    I don't see why you couldn't split a p-bass pickup, however, not sure if a standard p-bass pickup would be wide enough to cover 3 strings instead of 2....

I would think that you could wire up a Bart quad coil okay, or look into a pair of Bart dual coil side by side pickups (basically, a p-bass style pickup in a single soapbar package).

However, keep in mind that the "standard" for stereo wiring is to have two pickups and each pickup has it's own output jack. You then run each pickup into a seperate rig. I run my basses this way, and the bridge pickup is run through what would be considered a guitar rig (guitar pre-amp/multi FX unit, sonic max, compresser and stereo power amp) and then the neck pickup runs through a standard bass rig (bass pre-amp, sonic max, compressor, and big power amp into two 18" cabs).

:^)~

3. geddyentwistle

geddyentwistle

Apr 6, 2005
    that is exactly what i want to do