1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Squier Bass VI should I even bother?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by russpurdy, Mar 30, 2015.

1. russpurdy

russpurdy

Apr 16, 2013
    So, I have always thought the bass vi is an incredibly cool instrument and have wanted one since I started playing 19 years ago. Problem is I would never spend the kind of money they cost until this squier model came out.

I like the idea that I could do the Bass VI thing as well as put lighter strings on and go baritone. I am concerned, however, about intonation issues that I have been reading about.

So my question is with a few tricks (new bridge, strings, flipping saddles, etc) is it possible to get these to intonate properly or will I still just be "close"? Has anyone had one that just won't play in tune no matter what?

Intonation up the neck is a huge pet peeve of mine and as much as i'd like a bass vi I wouldn't enjoy it if it never played quite in tune.

2. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    Why not try it out and see if it works before you worry about changing parts?

3. Agree. Also, I imagine upgrade parts for a Bass VI will be relatively difficult to find - at least compared to more common Fender models.

4. russpurdy

russpurdy

Apr 16, 2013
    well I have already played a few in shops and none of them play quite in tune or were set up properly. I'm a little concerned that If I pick one up it will have intonation issues and just end up being a let down. Yes, I could take a chance but Id rather hear first hand accounts first. Thanks!

5. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY