1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Squier Fretless

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by G19Tony, Jun 13, 2018.

1. G19Tony

G19Tony

Apr 27, 2018
    Las Vegas, NV
    I posted in Show us your bass, but I thought I'd get the answer here. I’m fretless curious, so I picked up a Squier Fretless P bass. The fretboard is smooth. Being a newbie, I like that the lines are still there. I like how it plays. You get a little more leeway with getting a good note, because you didn’t land in the wrong spot. I’m going to do the mods I like. Babicz bridge and La Bella Flats, and set it up. I have two sets of flats coming. One is the normal tension and the other is the La Bella 1954 Flatwounds. I’m a little scared to put them on. Everything I’ve read, says they are very high tension and harder to play. But I think the sound would be cool.

I’m hoping the experienced cats will chime in and put my fear to rest, or tell me to run away, like in Monty Python!

IMG_1072.

2. Just picked up one of these also. Pretty happy with the tone of it, but will put half rounds on it eventually.

I have actually ordered a Wilde P-46 that might end up in this bass, but no plans at this point to change the bridge.

soulman969 likes this.
  3. Bass V

Bass V

Dec 11, 2008
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    I guess it's once again time for my Squier psa;
    the VM series and probably other Squiers have skinny / crap cast neck plate screws which I'd suggest swapping out for real steel at such a critical spot, especially when going high tension with flats. be gentle when removing the screws cos they can shear with little torque.
    that's a nice looking fretless Std. P!

TN WOODMAN likes this.
  4. G19Tony

G19Tony

Apr 27, 2018
    Las Vegas, NV