Squier PJ: Upgrade to SD 1/4 Lb + Hipshot Kickass?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Bassiclees, Nov 8, 2020.

1. Bassiclees

Bassiclees Supporting Member

Nov 8, 2020
    Hello Talkbass!
    New member here.
    Anyway, I'm a new bass player, and completing my Squier/Fender Trifecta (Squier Jazz, Fender Precision, Squier PJ) and just ordered a Squier PJ.
    Was thinking about making 2 mods immediately: Seymour Duncan PJ Quarter Pound and Hipshot Kickass bridge.
    Thinking more of doing it to build a relationship with the instrument than tone/feel necessarily as I'm kinda new to Bass (former wind player) but wondering if anyone sees these two particular 'upgrades' as redflags.
    Also planning on stringing it with GHS Precision Flats (I assume the regular- meaning non medium or short for a PJ) it to continue my String Journey (which has so far included a few and I'm in love with D'Addario Tapewounds).
    Thank you in advance for your input.

2. The pickups and bridge should be fine but before you start replacing things I’d recommend playing it for a while and see what, if anything, you don’t like and go from there. As far as “bonding” with your basses, start with doing a good setup. Lots of information in the stickies up above and in threads here. If you’re capable of replacing pickups and bridges you can do a setup.

LoveThatBass and 1uca5x like this.
  3. Bassiclees

Nov 8, 2020
    Truss rod adjustment totally intimidates me. I know I need to get over it, but it does. This week I'm going to commit to quarter turns x2 in each direction and really get to understand impact. Thank you for the input MattL.

4. buldog5151bass

buldog5151bass Kibble, milkbones, and P Basses. And redheads.

Oct 22, 2003
    Connecticut
    I've never understood why people want to do specific mods before they have even played a bass.