Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Stacking arrangement for multiple cabinets...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by GeorgiaHonk, Mar 24, 2004.

1. Hey folks...newbie here. I've noticed that many of you utilize multiple cabs for live performances, and the general rule of thumb seems to be "tens on top, fifteens (or 18s) on the bottom." Is this really the rule, and why? Is there a physics principle concerning the dissipation of frequencies at work here, or do you just do it because its the generally accepted thiung to do?

I personally have never used more than one cab at a time, so I never encountered the situation. But I am considering multiple cabs when I purchase my new rig.

Thanks in advance,
    Roger

2. Yes! Physics at work right there. Higher frequencies are much more audible to the human ear. Get the cab with more higher frequencies closer to ear level and it's going to sound "louder".

:bassist:

3. Petebass

Petebass

Dec 22, 2002
    QLD Australia
    Plus low frequencies like to roll alond flat surfaces such as floors and walls. Remember that next time you're setting up a home stereo and are thinking about putting the sub on a bookshelf (As I have seen many people do). It robs the sytem of a substantial amount of bottom end.

4. nonsqtr

nonsqtr The emperor has no clothes!

Aug 29, 2003
    Burbank CA USA