Stage positioning/ set up

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by mcbassdude, Oct 7, 2005.

1. I've always set up my rig next to the drums. I also like to stand next to the drummer (high hat side preferbly). It allows me to connect with the drummer better visually and sonically.
    Anyway a band I've been working with for the past year has suddenly asked me to set up on the outer edge of the stage so the two guitar player/singers can meet up in the middle and work off of each other. Apparently by being next to the drums I'm hindering their access to the center of the stage (we work mostly smaller clubs/bar venues with smaller stages) in the past I have just stepped back so one of them can go across, but it seems this has become a problem.

Well, I made a bit of a stink about moving my rig away from the drums and being seperated from the drums. I have stated that they call it rhythm SECTION for a reason. I've been doing this for over 25 years and I have never had anyone ask me to do it otherwise. Whenever I've done a gig with a supplied backline the bass rig is set up next to the drums. They got rather upset and felt I was being a bit of an inflexable prick about this. I said it was quite important to have the drums and bass together. I feel quite strong about this. I've suggested that we move the rhythm section to one end of the stage so they can have an entire half of the stage to themselves.

Am I being unreasonable about this or are they out of touch with how a rhythm section should be positioned?
  2. baba

baba Supporting Member

Jan 22, 2002
    3rd stone from the sun
    I don't think you need to be near the drums. I guess you could argue that you will hear them better, but a drum kit should carry just fine on the stage. You could always mike the kick and snare into the monitors if you had to.