1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Staining a Peavey T-40

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Joshua Allred, Aug 4, 2012.

1. Joshua Allred

Joshua Allred

Dec 11, 2011
    Ok so I am new to this specific forum and I cnt spell so leave me alone.Ok so now to my point I have a Peavey T-40 (honestly who doesnt) and I want to stain it yes stain it not refinish I will lightely sand body and stain it with a medium stain and after put a coat of polyuruathane on it after it is done drying I hate how light the color is but I love how the grain runs my iest prob is the neck I whant 2 stain it but I honestly have no idea how I do not want the letters or made in USA to get messed up or anything else should I take the neck to a proffesional? O yea it is swamp ash wood like most P T-40s. thats what it is not oak my dad is a carpenter and knows all about wood not to b offensive to anyone but that seems to be a debate. thank u for any advice God Bless

2. Oren Hudson

Oren Hudson

Dec 25, 2007
    Gastonia, NC
    I wouldn't do anything to it except clean and service it. If you still want to do those things you mentioned, better to get a pro to do the work with your admitted ignorance of how and what to do. Again, IMO, just a good cleaning and polishing and let it rip the bass lines is all that is necessary, and far less costly in both the work and the decrease in value of a "modded" T-40. Just my 2 cents. :cool:

3. godofthunder59

godofthunder59 God of Thunder and Rock and Roll Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2006
    Rochester NY USA
    Endorsing Cataldo Basses, Whirlwind products, Thunderbucker pickups
    Polyurethane is a poor choice to finish a instrument.

4. JLS

JLS

Sep 12, 2008
    Emeryville, Ca
    I setup & repair guitars & basses