1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Stambaugh + RMC + Axon Midi = ...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Lokire, Mar 8, 2008.

1. So I finally got an Axon AX50 midi box to use with my Stambaugh, which has RMC piezo pickups feeding their Polydrive electronics for midi use. Basically, I'm impressed and I'm disappointed.

I'm impressed with the speed of tracking. I read people saying how lower notes especially track slowly, but for me (with this setup) the low notes tracked really well. All the way down to low B I got a very fast response time.

But, when I started playing anything more complicated, or with a little more speed, the accuracy of the midi tracking dropped quite a bit. It's probably a combination of the strings that I use (brighter, higher tension strings would probably be better, but midi isn't worth that cost to me :p), the settings from the device/computer (I didn't tweak it a whole lot), and just where the technology is at this point in time.

So in short, I've abandoned the midi idea for now. Returned the Axon already. Maybe in the future, the technology will get better and cheaper. And there's always the possibility of using the 13-pin jack as a direct output for the piezos, which would definitely have uses :)

Here's a quick soundclip I did, playing around with the midi. The midi piano sound is panned all the way left, and the bass only tone is all the way right, so you can hear what's going on.

http://www.acidplanet.com/artist.asp?PID=1091410&T=3642

2. There seems to be a noticeable delay between the bass note & the faux-piano, even to my bad ears. A neat 'effect' but I wouldn't want it to always be there. Nice noodling, BTW.

3. jibreel

jibreel

Apr 12, 2005
    Seattle
    I have the RMC with the midi jack on one of my basses and had the same mixed results. Great concept but less than desirable results.