1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Stambaugh vs Warmoth ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ::::BASSIST::::, May 11, 2011.

1. ::::BASSIST::::

::::BASSIST:::: Progress Not Perfection.

Sep 2, 2004
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    I have been considering getting a new bass for a while. I am quite picky and know what I want.

I have a short scale stambaugh and love it. However, there are a few things I would change. I would get a body shape with a lower horn that does not dig into my leg when in a seated position. I would also make sure the next bass I get would have a more standard, rounded butt end (near the bridge) so that it would balance better in foldable guitar stands etc. I would also get a bass with a poly finish. The oil finish I have on my current bass is beautiful but it is showing wear and I think a poly finish is more durable. There are a couple other things like going with a different headstock shape etc but those are minor.

I could order another Stambaugh and I am sure those things could be easily remedied enough. However, I am not sure I can afford a $2000 bass at this time, when I can get a warmoth for probably under a $1000. I already have almost all the parts for a warmoth project except the bridge. The other advantage of the warmoth is that I would not have to wait a year for my bass, which is approx how long the stambaugh would take to be built. My current bass took 10 months from the time the deposit was sent.

With warmoth I could get my wood choices and would likely just stick with the shortscale J style body they offer. Basically, there is one thing I am concerned about and that is build quality... especially the neck. I have a warmoth wenge/ebony neck currently and I am quite happy with it, but the build quality of my Stambaugh is outstanding.