Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Standard Notation?? Is it a must???

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by WarPig, Jun 15, 2005.

1. :crying:
    I've been playing bass for about 25 years. I always had a good ear, and no problem picking up tunes, composing my own grooves.....whatever. Technical skills are also well tuned.

I recently started down a path to uncover what I have missed all along by being profoundly weak in theory. So I picked up a couple of books w/ CD to try and fill in the holes.

Whatever knowledge these texts have to offer comes with the requirement to learn to sight read standard notation in order to extract the secrets.......hmmm :(

I've found this kind of playing SUCKS, cuz as soon as the page of music isn't in your face, the song is gone. I've had this same issue with sight reading piano.

:help: Is there a GOOD book on theory development written for TAB?
    Tab is cool, its far less confusing, and when you look at tab - you're looking at your fretboard.
    OR :rollno: , should I just slug it out and do the work with standard notation?

Any helpful suggestions would be greatly appreciated
    David

2. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC
    Do the work with standard notation. Tab is worthless for theory, because it doesn't deal at all with musical relationships, only with physical ones.

3. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    +1. Besides, nobody on a pro level uses tabs. I've heard of kids in modern rock bands using tab to communicate ideas, but I have to read music all the time on my gigs and have never been given tabs once. It's unheard of. So yeah, you want to learn theory, learn notation.

4. seanlava

seanlava

Apr 14, 2005