1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to post, make friends, earn reward points at our store, remove most ads and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Standing position question

Discussion in 'Double Bass Pedagogy [DB]' started by davehertzberg, Sep 20, 2016.

Tags:
  1. I've always played with my left knee helping to support the weight of the bass, and as an orchestra teacher I've taught my beginners this position as well. The new book I'm using clearly instructs students that the belly is the only point of contact with the instrument, and that has kind of thrown me. I don't remember when or from whom I learned this position, but I've never even considered holding my bass any other way. It has always made sense to me to put as little weight on the left thumb as possible to facilitate left hand movement. I have always had lower back pain, though, and now I'm wondering if I'm just holding the bass wrong and this has contributed to my back pain. I understand there are different methods and schools of thought, but have I been teaching it wrong this whole time?

2. Steve Freides

Steve Freides Supporting Member

Dec 11, 2007
    Ridgewood, NJ
    Private Music Teacher
    What book?

-S-

3. Measures of Success. I had been using Essential Elements, but there were some things about it that I don't like.

4. Steve Freides

Dec 11, 2007
    Ridgewood, NJ
    Private Music Teacher
    Leading a school orchestra or just bass lessons?

-S-

5. Elementary school orchestra. The beginners are 3rd graders.

6. Steve Freides

Dec 11, 2007
    Ridgewood, NJ
    Private Music Teacher
    That is _young_. Around here, school band and orchestra starts in 5th grade.