Standing to the side or behind

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Slaphound, Jul 8, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Slaphound

Slaphound Supporting Member

Jun 16, 2003
    Staten Island, NY
    Hi Folks.
    I hope I'm in the right forum.

I've been playing the upright for about 2 years now and I mostly play rockabilly, western swing and blues. A lot of slapping. I have become accustomed to standing to the side of the bass standing up and its been working well.
    Now recently, I've immersed myself in jazz and walking bass lines. Well, mostly I've used a 'baseball bat' grip while playing but for the walking lines, I try to use a more traditional grip. The claw?. The thumb behind the neck and fingertips on the strings. But then my wrist started to hurt. Too much of a curve? I thought so. So after digging into some youtube videos, I noticed that most Jazz players play with the bass leaned into them and the bass turned out towards the audience a little bit. Feels more comfy on the wrist but also a new way to hold it and, to be honest, somehow not so comfy. I think for the most part its just that I am not used to it. My question is this.... Is there a right and wrong way to hold the double bass or is it a matter of personal taste? Right now for me, it is a matter of what style I'm playing that will dictate the position.

Is this correct.

2. Jeff Bonny

Jeff Bonny Inactive

Nov 20, 2000
    Harrison Mills
    Try to achieve a mechanically sound approach but there's no one right way get there. Youtube is a valuable resource. Start by watching players whose sound you like but also do a general survey of great players. A few names I can think of who hold the bass a variety of ways that work are Ron Carter, Red Mitchell, Michael Moore, Renaud Garcia-Fons.

Once you start to see what looks efficient in other players a mirror will tell you what you're doing.

Steven Ayres likes this.