1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Star Gound Question for 62 Jazz Wiring

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by johns46140, Apr 12, 2009.

1. Hello:

I am new to bass wiring and I was hoping that some one could answer a question for me... I completed the wiring for a '62 Concentric Stacked pot setup but now I have some hum that I would like to get rid of by doing a star ground. Note: the cavity is already copper shielded so I was hoping that I would not get hum but that is not the case.

My plan is to bring all of the ground wires to the ground side of the input jack or to a ground lug that will be installed in the body cavity. I am wondering what to do with the capacitors that are soldered back to the pots. Is it ok to leave the capacitors soldered to the pots? Or should I solder all ground connections including the capacitors back a ground lug so that nothing is soldered to the pots?

I attached the 62 Jazz bass wiring diagram for reference.

Thanks for the help

Attached Files:

2. Do a search on star grounding...

I would just leave the bass the way it is.
    Star grounding is all a load of crap, because you cannot get ground loops in a circuit with only one ground.

3. troyus

troyus

Apr 9, 2008
    San Diego, CA.
    You should have no hum really... make sure that all the cavities are grounded and connected, and make sure the control plate is grounded to the cavity as well (copper tape going from the cavity bottom up to the top of the cavity and over the lip.)

You don't need to overdo it on the grounding but the control plate, the main cavity, and both pickup cavities, and the bridge ALL need to be interconnected. That will clear out 99% of your noise.

The star grounding will not do anything as noted.