Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Starter 6-string

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by DJ Kuul A, Apr 18, 2000.

1. DJ Kuul A

DJ Kuul A

Apr 11, 2000
    Hi gang,

I am getting started on the bass (I've been playing guitar for a few years) and I'm interested in going with a 6-string (love that prog rock!). I'm also interested in Minimum Cash Layout. [​IMG] The purpose here is personal enjoyment and jamming with friends, not serious gigging.

I've tried out a few models in stores (unfortunately, these days I don't have the time for this that I'd like), and seen a few for sale online, and I'm looking for recommendations as to something in the low end worth getting. I've seen some things like a Fernandes Gravity 6, a Tobias (unsure of the model #), and an Ibanez SR506 around the $600 price point, although I'd really like to keep it under $500. A strong contender right now is the Carlo Robelli (Sam Ash store brand), which they sell for only $350 new. It seemed to play fine when I tried it out, but I don't really have much to compare it to.

Any suggestions/ recommendations will be much appreciated!!!

2. Hey DJ Kuul A..

My brief foray into 6-string involved an Ibanez SR-506 and I thought it was pretty good. This is 5 years ago though, I don't know how they are now, but the one I had played really nice with a comfortable neck profile and had a lot of tones. Another one you might consider is the Curbow by Cort 6-string, I played one at my local MARS the other day, liked it a lot.. it's got about the smallest body I've ever seen for a 6, and it was about $625 if I recall.. good luck!

3. gmstudio99

gmstudio99

Mar 11, 2000
    Cleveland, OH
    Yo!