Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Starter Bass + Amp, $1,000.00 Budget

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by hawtin47, Oct 14, 2003.

1. hawtin47

hawtin47

Oct 9, 2003
    Lyons, Oregon
    Greetings-

I'm looking to buy a 4-string bass and amp (the amp mainly for practice with an electronic drum set and low-powered guitar amp) and have about a grand to spend total.

Looking for advice on an appropriate ratio for the gear expenditure (70-30 bass?) and brand recommendations.

I like a wider neck like a a P-style over a J-style, but have no brand preferences for anything.

Primary music styles will be contemporary worship music along with some classic rock and cowboy country/bluegrass. I don't like the looks of the more metal-oriented basses.

I have no experience playing the bass, but have played acoustic and electric guitar and mandolin for a couple of years.

Also - should I consider a 5-string bass out of the chute, or stick to the 4-string for now?

Thanks -

Marc

2. for the kind of music you are going to play I think a 4-string P bass would work just fine. unless you like how 5-strings play or want one. but for your budget you could get a nicer 4-string than a 5-string.

if you like the precision bass then check out a Fender Made In Mexice (MIM) Precision bass. or if you could find a used G&L SB-1 or SB-2. then for the amp I think that Yorkville amps are great quality, tone and value. here is a link to an online place that sells them:

http://www.gear1music.com/yorbasam.html

I think the XM200 (1X15) or XM200T (2X10) would work great for ya. just depends on what speaker configuration you want.

3. Toasted

Toasted

May 26, 2003
    Leeds, UK
    from the styles of music you say you will be playing and the instruments you have presviously played i would say stick with 4 string. JT or progzilla will probably disagree with me on this (heh).