Starter Bass + Amp, $1,000.00 Budget

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by hawtin47, Oct 14, 2003.

1. hawtin47

Oct 9, 2003
    Lyons, Oregon

I'm looking to buy a 4-string bass and amp (the amp mainly for practice with an electronic drum set and low-powered guitar amp) and have about a grand to spend total.

Looking for advice on an appropriate ratio for the gear expenditure (70-30 bass?) and brand recommendations.

I like a wider neck like a a P-style over a J-style, but have no brand preferences for anything.

Primary music styles will be contemporary worship music along with some classic rock and cowboy country/bluegrass. I don't like the looks of the more metal-oriented basses.

I have no experience playing the bass, but have played acoustic and electric guitar and mandolin for a couple of years.

Also - should I consider a 5-string bass out of the chute, or stick to the 4-string for now?

Thanks -

2. Gabu

Jan 2, 2001
    Woodland Hills, CA
    Hi there.

For a practice amp, you should probably get something 50 to 100 watts with a 12 or 15" speaker. Even a low powered guitar amp gets pretty loud. Ampeg has a "Rocket" series that I think produces a great tone, and is fairly loud for a small combo amp. The two in paticular are called the B100-R and the B50-R.

If you want to use the amp in your Worship, you would need to take the size of the room into consideration. This could mean that all you need is that same 100w 15" combo, or perhaps you might need a 400 + watt head and a 410 ... or even more!

I will put my recommendation for your Bass, in your bass thread.
  3. hawtin47

Oct 9, 2003
    Lyons, Oregon
    Thanks for the input.

My amp won't be used in the worship group, as they already have a beefy older SWR head/cab that works great. Mine will just be for home use and small practice sessions.

Thanks gang -

4. Stephen Soto

Stephen Soto

Oct 12, 2003