1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Starting a band even though I have reservations about my skill

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by prater, Oct 25, 2013.

1. prater

prater

Aug 4, 2011
    So I'm starting a band. I don't consider myself to be all that good. I've been playing alone for a couple of years, been through lessons and jammed with friends a time or two.

Last year I talked about starting a band with some guys but called it off because I didn't feel confident, went back into lessons to try to alleviate my fears and after a few months my teacher basically told me to take a break from lessons and go do my own thing, then call him when I felt stuck.

Instead I played rocksmith and didn't practice much, I felt burned out yet again as I have so many times. Then one night hanging with some friends at their studio I asked to sit in on a song of theirs I know just for fun. That one song turned into five (covers) and it was a blast, I walked away feeling confident and decided to revive my idea of starting a cover band.

I got some guys I know who are skilled and down for anything to join up and start a cover band with me, we haven't started yet. I'm extremely nervous that I'm doing this for selfish reasons but I feel like the only way for me to get better, more solid and grow as a player is to play with other people.

I'm excited for one reason because our drummer is an extremely talented bass player and good friend of mine. He doesn't have much experience on drums but has always wanted to give it a try. I feel like that will be a great help to me as well having a solid bass player drumming for me and learning himself as we go. He is very aware of my skill level and that gives me comfort.