Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Starting a church band...

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by SundanceChile, Mar 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. So heres the deal. Having lunch with my mother today and she notifies me that the church she goes to has no band what so ever(She's a devout catholic, I've converted to Buddhisim). So she throws the idea my way. The priest is in need of someone to lead/assemble a church band to play at sunday mass, and no one's stepping up. So I figured, what the heck. Currently I'm a college student, aiming for a degree in Musical Preformance, so I figure this will be a great expierience for me. I've been studying music theory for 10 years, playing bass for 4, and I figure, despite the enviroment, music is music. It would be totally awesome if I could manage something with a lot more "emphasis"(think Sister Act). A lot more R&B/Soul/Blues feel to it, the people attending the church right now don't even sing on their own at the mass(which I found akward). So I left the priest a message(my old religon teacher akwardly enough), and I'm hoping to get this project off the ground. Any advice from church goers/bassists as what to play/how to pull this off in the best "religous" manner possible?

2. Dkerwood

Dkerwood

Aug 5, 2005
    Midwest
    Honestly? Don't.

If the priest is worth his salt, he'll turn you down. No offense, but what business do you have exploiting an opening in the church for your own musical gains?

The music is there to serve the worship service, not the other way around.

Surely you'd be insulted if some Christian tried to lead a Buddhist worship session. Please don't insult those in the church by treating this like a gig... especially one that by your own admission you have to act "religious" about?

I do hope you're not insulted, but my advice is to forget it.