Starting Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BassChase4, Mar 3, 2018.

1. BassChase4

BassChase4

Mar 3, 2018
    Michigan
    Hello everyone, hard-core newbie here.
    I am just picking up my first bass in a couple of weeks here and I had my eye on an Ibanez SR300E which I was told is a decent jumping off point. I enjoy the sound a P bass gives but I've been told a Jazz is much more flexible (granted if I were blindfolded I'd be hard pressed to point out the difference in sound). I ultimately settled on the Ibanez for the fact that I can mimic both a P and J sound with it.

I was wondering if any experienced players can give me pointers or advice on what they wished they knew when they started. I'm sure I'm putting too much thought into it but I just really need help. Thanks in advance!

2. TyCobb

TyCobb

Feb 17, 2014
    Folsom, CA
    Not my first, but my second -- I wish I knew that I was supposed to unplug it if it used a battery. I also wish I knew it had a battery. What fun that was.... :banghead:

TrevorR, /\/\3phist0, Sid s and 9 others like this.
  3. C_Becker

C_Becker

Mar 30, 2017
    Germany
    The best advice I can give is to learn to do your own setups.
    Check out this thread for a good starting point:
    ALL BASIC SETUP QUESTIONS ANSWERED HERE

And congratulations, you chose a great instrument to learn and a good bass to start on.

/\/\3phist0, Sid s, shodan and 5 others like this.
  4. BassChase4

BassChase4

Mar 3, 2018
    Michigan
    Awesome, thank you so much. I can rest assured my decisions so far are good!

C_Becker likes this.
  5. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    Vestal, NY
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)
    You could do worse, Ibbys a very well liked around here for the most part.

Duckophile likes this.
  6. Bassbeater

Bassbeater Guest

Sep 9, 2001
    Less is more on bass.
    Prioritize playing tightly with the drums.
    Add fancy notes later.