Starting fretless. Lined or Unlined?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by alx564, Oct 8, 2002.

1. alx564

Jul 31, 2000
    Emmaus, PA
    Hello Everyone,

Well I have been bitten by the fretless bug. And now I need some help. I would like to get a Fender Jazz fretless, but I'm debating between a lined or unlined board. I have been playing bass for three years and I have an OK ear. Not very good but I can tell whether a note is in tune or not. I've been a violinist for a long time now so that has helped my ear quite a bit.

I'm just worried that I may not be able to handle an unlined fretless right away. Maybe I should just stop being a baby and go for it but I still have doubts. I was wondering if I could get some advice from people out there who took the dive into the fretless world. Thanks
  2. BassAxe

Jul 22, 2002
    Culpeper, VA
    It's just like playing a fretted bass. You just have to pay closer attention to where you put your fingers.
  3. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    After messing for a few months with a lined fretless I did myself, I finally took the plunge and put an unlined fretless neck on my Jazz. It's actually easier for me to play - the lines were just distracting me!

Go for it, and trust your ears...
  4. xush

Jul 4, 2001
    mobile AL
    I'm w/ fred H on this one...
  5. snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    American and Mexican=lined
  6. sizz

Sep 23, 2002
    Bella Vista, AR
    I would have to agree with HeavyDuty on this one. Since you already have experience with violin, you might be better suited for unlined IMO. I started with an unlined fretless (Fender MIJ Jazz that I still own) & I'm glad that I did... a lined fretless would just mess me up now. Trust your ears... mine have never let me down!:)
  7. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)