Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

starting from scratch ...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by willis, Aug 27, 2003.

1. willis

willis

Aug 27, 2003
    tampa, fl
    hello everyone ... i am just starting out w/ my first bass and have a question on were to begin?? i have seen all kinds of mail order CD ROMs and "over the internet" lessons, should i start with one of these packages to learn the basics and then go to an instructer? or would a book or video/dvd be a better basics teacher? remember i have zero experience on a string instrument, and totaly plan on getting an instructer, just dont know if i should start going to him/her with no idea of what i am doing :confused:

2. Frankly you're probably better off starting off with an instructor. But if you're determined to try it out on your own then I'd suggest hitting ActiveBass.com. This site has a large number of lessons, a lot of different routines, many tabs and it hosts a nice little applet that can play (sound out) a tab or lesson so you can hear how it sounds.

You're still probably better off with a teacher though. I've been playing for a few months now on my own. I've basically been working on left and right hand dexterity, learning the scales and some of the various techniques (slap, pop, percussive slap, double string slap, false harmonics, 4-finger right hand plucking and chords). But I'm starting in with a new teacher this saturday and I'm thinking I should have taken other people's advice and started with a teacher in the first place.

ed

3. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

As you have zero experience, start with a teacher. You will save yourself so much time and difficulty because many instruction formats, Internet, books, CDs, etc., can be confusing and unclear if you know little or nothing about bass guitar or music.