starting jazz?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Fishbrain, Dec 18, 2000.

1. Fishbrain

Dec 8, 2000
    England, Liverpool
    Endorsing Artist: Warwick Bass and Amp
    I'm new to bass and wanna try as much as I can so can I have some tips to starting jazz plz?
  2. Jeff Bonny

Jeff Bonny Supporting Member

Nov 20, 2000
    Vancouver, BC
    Jazz is all about listening so practice that. When you're out walking listen to how all the sound around you is filling up the space you're in. When someone speaks to you listen without being distracted by what you're gonna say next and when you do say something try to say something that serves the other person rather than something self serving. Listen to Miles, Coltrane, Bill Evans to absorb the language of jazz; if it ain't in yer head you probably won't be able to say it. Oh yeah, learn all the major, minor, whole tone and diminished chords and associated scales and harmony and practice with the metronome clicking on 1 and 3. Most important find people to play with on a regular basis.
  3. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    Basic steps to get you going:

1. Learn your chords including the most common extensions (7ths, 9ths, 13ths).

2. Learn your scales and modes.

3. Learn the blues in all 12 keys.

4. Learn "rhythm changes" in all 12 keys (start with Bb).

5. Get a Real Book and start learning tunes.

6. Find people to jam with.

Good luck from another pilgrim on the path :)

4. Jeff Bonny

Nov 20, 2000
    Vancouver, BC
    Two questions:
    1)With exposure to the backbeat we get from listening to R&B, blues, jazz, a lot of country and rock do you really feel it's something that is a problem for most folks to find? I'll suggest that if it is a problem then you've been living in a closet and click on 2 & 4 ain't gonna solve the problem.
    2)When was the last time you heard anyone turn around all a-fluster and ask "Hey man, where's two?
  5. Bruce Lindfield