1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

starting my daughter in the bass and don't know how and which bass get her

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by BES, Jul 11, 2018.

1. BES

BES

Mar 27, 2018
    Vancouver, B.C.
    hello everyone!
    I hope I'm in the right thread, if not my apologies.
    so my 9 year old daughter is pretty excited about learning how to play bass, I'm not an expert pretty much a by ear player Im just getting my self immerse on the technique and general knowledge of the bass as an instrument. But my economic situation doesn't let me sign her up for lessons, and I would like to take that excitement to get her started on this magnificent instrument. any advice on what to teach her be-sides instrument parts, string notes, fingerboard notes, etc, etc?
    also anybody here has experience with bass sizes for youngsters? she isn't to little and I guess at this point she will need a regular bass size sooner then later, I was thinking on a short scale but also saw an Ibanez micro on the loop.
    any advice or suggestion will be welcome.
    regards

nateh415 likes this.
  2. lowplaces

lowplaces Got Punch ? Supporting Member

Dec 20, 2015
    Louisville Kentucky
    Fender Mustang PJ

Nice neck profile for smaller hands. Not too wide further up the neck.

Plus it says Fender on the headstock. If she starts playing in a band with friends no one will tease her for playing a Squier.

We adults know that Squier makes good basses nowadays. But kids will be kids.

jmo

nateh415, saabfender, REV and 2 others like this.
  3. mambo4

mambo4

Jun 9, 2006
    Dallas
    I'm hoping to buy one of these for my daughter some day...

Squire Bronco is ashort scale bass
    (the lower tier version of Fender Mustang)

The Sanrio model is probably rather scarce though...