Starting out, any tips?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by ireidt, Mar 14, 2005.

1. ireidt

Mar 6, 2005
    Recently I have been interested in makign guitar pedals and working on a custom bass that I designed a while ago. Is there any suggestions on where to begin? I got some electric project books for musicians that I am going to start, btu I would like to know where to begin in building my bass.

2. Cerb

Sep 27, 2004
    The search button can definately be your friend. This forum is where I have gained the majority of my own knowledge. My only advice is to go slow. Do some research before plunging into it. I've been researching for the past 5 or 6 months and I'm just now beginning my first build. There were a few times when I decided I was ready, and then I found out I wasn't after reading some more. This forum has definately saved those poor flamed maple body wings and that beautiful wenge/purpleheart neck blank from my destructive hands :bag:.
  3. Suburban

Jan 15, 2001
    lower mid Sweden
    A: find a good book! Martin Koch wrote my favorite, a lot of others vote for Hiscock, and there are a few more.

B: practice patience, and slow work. That is how you avoid mistakes, and how you will be able to correct those you make.

C: don't be intimidated. You can make any and all parts of a bass. Just go slow and precise!

D: don't blame me if you screw up, since you didn't follow my advice above.
  4. Luke Sheridan

Luke Sheridan Commercial User

Dec 30, 2004
    Yonkers, NY
    I build guitars and sell them. Strings, too
    Buy stuff in advance.
    My build would have been much easier had I assembled all the components first. It will help you plot out the design.