1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Starting out as a bass tech / repair guy

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by MichiBass, Aug 19, 2007.

1. Dear TBers,

I posted this also in the setup / repair forum.

My name is Michi and I'm almost 22. I started playing bass over 4 years ago. I have the 4th bass right now and I noticed that I really like to set up / repair my basses on my own. Once I had a Yamaha RBX 375 with a faulty neck (action was at minimum at the bridge and strings were still to high - needed neck shimming) and I took her to a repairman in my town to set her up completly. When I got her back she was very shiny, smelled good (lemon oil) but the problem was still there, the repairman didn't removed the neck to try to reduce the neck/body angle... I payed like 20-30 $ for some polishing...
    I sold the bass and ordered a Fender Jazz (that I have now for almost 2 years) and borrowed a backup cheapo bass (P-Bass copy) which was horrible. I took her apart, cleaned her, set her up and she played very nice. Then I realised that a good setup job brings the instrument to another level.
    Last month I decided to (maybe) start out as a bass tech (setup/repair-guy). I read a book called "Guitar Player Repair Guide" by Dan Erlewine and that book answered me a lot of questions.
    Now I'm asking you guys, what should I do next? What did YOU do when you were starting out as a tech?
    That's what I thought about:

1. Set up / repair (minor repairs only, of course) as many basses as I can get. I get a used bass next week, a cheap 6 stringer. I can't wait to take it apart, clean it, set it up and maybe change the electronics to passive.