Starting out with a fretless bad?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by AndrewT, Jun 26, 2001.

1. AndrewT

Jun 16, 2001
    Sugar Land, TX
    I was all set with my first bass being a Fender MIM Jazz bass, and I saw the fretless (with the fret lines) today. I picked it up and played it, and like it a lot. Does anyone think that its a particularly BAD idea to start out on a fretless? I think I feel more comfortable playing on a fretless because I've been playing violin for 7 years, and well, violins are fretless. I think I want a fretless, but just wondering what the opinions of the people more experianced than I. Thanks a lot.
  2. Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson Commercial User

Mar 8, 2000
    Gaithersburg, Md
    Boom Bass Cabinets, DR strings
  3. bakdo03

Jun 26, 2001
    I just bought my first bass, and it is the same model you bought. I play guitar mainly and had been thinking of a bass for a while. As soon as I picked up the fretless with the lines, I fell in love with the feel. Does it have the flat wound strings? The fretless neck and flat strings are great. I can't imagine it would be bad to start with this, actually I think it would be better. You don't have to worry about fret buzz either. I find myself slapping the strings on the neck more than I want, but I'm a real beginner when it comes to bass method.
  4. furtim

Dec 12, 1999
    Boston, MA, USA
    There is nothing at all wrong with starting out on fretless. In fact, if you intend to eventually play a fretless, it's probably better. There's no point in learning a fretted bass if you're just gonna ditch it for a smooth one later. ;) There's a very slight difference in technique, too, so it's probably best to just start out on fretless and not have to re-learn the feel.
  5. Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    Well...I suspect what with no concept of Frets, the fretless would be pretty easy so opposed to switch to, which many bassisits do...